It’s 2014, why are we still having these conversations?

We’ve got a two-for-one sale in the “I’m not sexist, it’s just that women aren’t talented or interesting!” department today.

The BBC, in a nod toward that special interest group I like to think of as “half the population,” has instructed that its comedy shows are to stop featuring all-male panels.

The comments are full of the predictable bawwwing about how It’s Not Sexism, Women Just Aren’t Funny! and Reverse Discrimination! and Quotas!

And then Luke McKinney at Cracked wrote about 5 Superheroes Who Should’ve Gotten Movies Before Ant-Man, including Rescue, Oracle, Black Widow, and Wonder Woman. Just so we’re clear, I’m not a big comics reader and I don’t have an opinion on any of these characters per se, including Ant-Man, and whether or not they should have movies. But I’m pretty sure these reasons suck.

It’s all about appealing to the biggest possible audience, and I just don’t think there is a big enough casual audience for a WW standalone movie, at least not right now.

Because nothing says “casual audience” like Ant-Man.

Demographics folks. I would actually like to see a superheroine movie come out in the future, and when it inevitably flops, I will enjoy seeing the mental gymnasts try to extrapolate a sexist reason for its failure. Face it, SJWs, you can’t change the way people are no matter how much you circle-jerk and push your agenda on them.

If you only make movies about male superheroes, that’s not a demographic problem because men make up 50% of the population. But if you make a movie about a female superhero, it’s destined to flop because women are a niche market comprising a mere 50% of the population. Look, don’t get mad at me, it’s just math.

main appeal of “nearly naked” female superheroes is the same that fuels sexism. either both or none.

Oh I forgot, there’s nothing appealing about a woman except how she looks in a skimpy costume pardon me I’ll just be over here banging my head against this wall

I know they’re just Internet comments, and mostly downrated ones at that, so who gives a fuck. But these are the kinds of reasons that actual executives and other people with decision-making authority give for excluding women. I’m just so tired of it.

Leave a Reply

